Judges who recommended removal of E.C bosses promoted to Supreme Court

Two members of the Chief Justice’s five-member committee that investigated and recommended the removal from office of the Electoral Commission chair and her two deputies have been appointed to the Supreme Court.

Justices SK Marfo–Sau and Agnes Dodzie who are both Appeal Court judges now have the privilege to sit in the apex court if their nomination is approved by Parliament.

They were part of a five-member committee tasked by Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo to investigate allegations of misconduct by the EC chair and her two deputies. The committee was chaired by a Supreme Court judge, Justice Alfred Anthony Benin.

The other members were Abrah Appiah and Rose Karikari-Annan, Executive Secretary, Ghana Employers’ Association.

They scrutinised petitions calling for the removal of the EC boss Charlotte Osei and her two deputies Georgina Amankwah and Amadu Sulley and recommended their removal from office.

The Chief Justice forwarded the fate of the three to the President who announced the committee’s decision to the public.

More soon…

The Latest

Official news website for Abusua 96.5 FM, local radio station based in Ashanti Regional capital, Kumasi. Abusua 96.5 FM is a member of the EIB Network, Africa's fastest growing media group

Copyright © 2018 Abusua 96.5 FM

To Top