OFFICIAL: Canada, Mexico and United States win bid to host 2026 World Cup

The ‘United Bid’ saw off Morocco in the final stage of voting – the FIFTH time the African nation has been overlooked.

Canada, Mexico and the United States have won their combined bid to host the 2026 World Cup.

The ‘United Bid’ beat Morocco in the final stage of voting at the FIFA congress in Moscow on Wednesday, with 67 per cent of the 203 votes cast.

It’s the first time three nations will co-host the tournament.

It is also the FIFTH time Morocco have been overlooked as a World Cup host.

The United States and Mexico have both already hosted World Cups – Mexico twice in 1970 and 1986, and USA in 1994 – while Canada staged the Women’s World Cup in 2015.

Their bid featured 16 host cities, with ten in the US, three in Mexico and three in Canada.

This was the first World Cup vote since 2010, with FIFA promising a “more open and transparent” vote after the 2018 and 2022 tournaments were controversially awarded to Russia and Qatar.

The 2018 tournament kicks off in Russia on Thursday.

US Soccer president Carlos Cordeiro told the FIFA Congress: “It’s a bit emotional for us today.


Talk Sports

The Latest

Official news website for Abusua 96.5 FM, local radio station based in Ashanti Regional capital, Kumasi. Abusua 96.5 FM is a member of the EIB Network, Africa's fastest growing media group

Copyright © 2018 Abusua 96.5 FM

To Top