CPP Stands To Be Disqualified If…

Fourteen out of seventeen presidential nominees on Monday October 10, submitted their filing fees to the Electoral Commission (EC) to enable them participate in the December 7 presidential and parliamentary elections.

The Electoral Commission had directed that Presidential and Parliamentary nominees for the 2016 elections have to submit the banker’s draft in respect of their filing fees to it not later than 12pm on Monday, October 10, 2016.

The National Democratic Congress, (NDC), the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), the United Progressive Party (UPP), the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD), and Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent presidential nominee, have so far submitted their filing fee.

Other presidential nominees to have submitted their fees are Nana Agyenim Boateng, aka Gyataba, of the United Freedom Party (UFP), Mr Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress (APC), and Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC).

The rest were the Independent People’s Party (IPP) and Mr Kwabena Adjei of the Reform Patriotic Democrats (RPD).

WO1 Richard Nixon Tetteh of the Unity Development System Party (UDSP) and Ward Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP), were, however, unable to submit their filing fee.

Meanwhile, the Convention People’s Party got to the EC’s office a minute before the deadline but went without a banker’s draft and so the EC has said it willneed tomeet over that particular issue to take a decision.

The acceptance of the fees comes on the back of a court ruling dismissing an interlocutory injunction brought against it by the PPP. The PPP argued that it was arbitrary on the part to of the EC to have pegged the fees at GHS 50,000 for presidential aspirants and GHS 10,000 for parliamentary nominees.

All the parties and independent nominees had earlier submitted their nomination forms while they waited for the court to rule on the injunction.

Source: www.abusuafmonline.com/Ghana

The Latest

Official news website for Abusua 96.5 FM, local radio station based in Ashanti Regional capital, Kumasi. Abusua 96.5 FM is a member of the EIB Network, Africa's fastest growing media group

Copyright © 2018 Abusua 96.5 FM

To Top